News and features

Shortlist – British Coach Tourism Awards 2017

Here’s the shortlist for the British Coach Tourism Awards 2017 – formerly the National Coach Tourism Awards.

For full details of how how to buy tickets for the awards evening on Wednesday 22 March at the National Motorcycle Museum at the NEC, Birmingham, go to www.britishcoachawards.co.uk

Congratulations to all those who made the shortlist.

Coach Friendly Destination of the Year

Coach Friendly Visitor Attraction of the Year
Blenheim Palace
Bodleian Libraries
Chester Zoo
Ripley’s London
The World of James Herriot
West Midland Safari Park
Woburn Abbey and Gardens

European Coach Friendly Attraction – sponsored by DFDS
La Cité du Vin, Bordeaux
Efteling Park, the Netherlands
Keukenhof, the Netherlands
Parc Astérix, France
Titanic Belfast, Northern Ireland

Sea, Canal, Inland Riverboat Carrier of the Year
– sponsored by Edward Coaches

Condor Ferries
Eurotunnel Le Shuttle
Sabrina Boat
Stuart Line Cruises
Windermere Lake Cruises

Heritage Railway of the Year
Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway
Vale of Rheidol Railway

Accommodation Provider of the Year
Away Resorts – Mill Rythe
Freedom Hotels
Hilton Worldwide
Marriott Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel, Skipton
The Metropole Hotel and Spa, Llandrindod Wells
Warner Leisure Hotels

Tour Wholesaler of the Year – sponsored by Planet Hollywood & Ripley’s London
Action Tours
Albatross Travel
Greatdays Travel Group
Groups Direct
Hospitality Line
Norman Allen Group Travel

Holiday Programme of the Year
Crusader Holidays
Epsom Coaches
Glenton Holidays
Harry Shaw
Johnsons Coach Travel
Shearings Holidays

Day Excursion Programme of the Year – sponsored by Warner Leisure Hotels  www.warnerleisurehotels.co.uk
Eastons Coaches
Epsom Coaches
Gardiners NMC
Walton’s Coach Hire
Whittles Coaches

Accessibility Award
BBC Tours at Mediacity UK
Chester Zoo
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway
Speyside Cooperage Visitor Centre

Coach Tour Operator Brochure of the Year – sponsored by Hospitality Line
Crusader Holidays
Eastons Coaches
Epsom Coaches
Glenton Holidays
Roberts Travel Group
Rover European
Shearings Holidays

Coach Tourism Innovation of the Year
Advantage Now – ‘Accommodation Service’
Epsom Coaches – ‘Swiftbreaks’
Groups Direct – ‘Ambassador Scheme’
Galloway Coach Travel – ‘School of Rock coach’
Leisuretime – ‘Supporting Wales at Euro 2016’
Visit By Coach – ‘One-stop Passenger Incentives’

Coach Tourism Professional of the Year (team or individual)
Helen Ward, Group Specialist, Groups Direct
Jim McAleese, Good Companions Host, Glenton Holidays
Kevin Miller and Claire MacDonald, Business Partners, Eclipse Breaks
Lisa Weaver, Groups Co-ordinator, Woburn Abbey and Gardens
Martin Slater, National Sales Manager, Greatdays Travel Group
Martyn Stagg, National Coach Sales Manager, Warner Leisure Hotels
Oli Williams, Dance Holidays and Events Co-ordinator, IOW Tours

Coach Tour Driver of the Year – sponsored by Eurotunnel Le Shuttle
Driver team at Crusader Holidays
Ian George, Shearings Holidays
Paul Hodgkinson, Moffat & Williamson/Glenton
Scotty Law, Blacks of Brechin
Shôn Rees, Midway Motors
Trevor Robson, Scarlet Band

Coach Tour Operator of the Year – Small Fleet (1-5 coaches)
Houghs of Lincolnshire
Kardan Travel
IOW Tours
Tally Ho! Holidays

Coach Tour Operator of the Year – Medium Fleet (6-15 coaches) – sponsored by Roadchef
Bayliss Executive Travel
Crusader Holidays
Eastons Coaches
Highland Explorer Tours
Roberts Travel Group
Whittles Coaches

Coach Tour Operator of the Year – Large Fleet (more than 15 coaches) – sponsored by Wrightsure
Edwards Coach Holidays
Johnsons Coach Travel
Lucketts Travel
Roselyn Coaches
Shearings Holidays

British Coach Tourism Awards 2017 shortlist